LDS Thought: Charlie and the Chocolate Factory

Brandon and I were watching Charlie and the Chocolate Factory the other night and when it got to the glass elevator scene I realized Charlie was like Joseph Smith. In the scene Willy Wonka gives his beloved Chocolate Factory to Charlie and goes on to explain why saying ” I can’t go on forever, and I don’t really want to try. So who can I trust to run the factory when I leave and take care of the Oompa Loompas for me? Not a grown up. A grown up would want to do everything his own way, not mine. So that’s why I decided a long time ago that I had to find a child. A very honest, loving child, to whom I could tell all my most precious candy making secrets.”

People not of the same faith will often ask me why Heavenly Father would reveal to Joseph Smith an uneducated, fourteen year old farmboy, that he would start the church and translate the Book of Mormon. Why not a powerful well educated adult? Like Willy and Charlie I believe Heavenly Father needed someone humble and child like that would follow him.

rane-first-vision_MD

One thought on “LDS Thought: Charlie and the Chocolate Factory

  1. I love this. Joseph Smith truly had to have outstanding humility, being chosen as the prophet in to lead out the dispensation of the fullness of times.
    How truly grateful we are for him! Happy Conference!(:

Leave a Reply

